On July 1,2011 the Kansas DUI law changed dramatically regarding a Kansas license holder and their ability to drive. For first time offenders after a 30 day driver’s license suspension the offender can apply for an ignition interlock device to be installed on their vehicle allowing them driving privileges for their employment and other limited purposes.
All other DUI offenders may apply for the ignition interlock privilege after serving a 45 day driver’s license suspension. The new Kansas law greatly improves a DUI offender’s ability to remain employed.
The length of time required for the ignition interlock restriction and it’s conditions varies depending upon the specific circumstances of an offender’s situation. This new Kansas DUI law will be applied retroactively for all offenders as it deals with their driving privilege.
You may direct any questions regarding the application of this new Kansas DUI law to your specific circumstances by calling me at 913-341-8530. The initial consultation is at no charge to you.